You get a job. You become the job.

Bangkok_009

Personnel Officer: Wanna work uptown at nights? South Bronx? Harlem?
Travis Bickle: I’ll work anytime, anywhere.
Personnel Officer: Will you work on Jewish holidays?
Travis Bickle: Anytime, anywhere.

(Taxi Driver)

Annop [at the picture] is a 45-year old licensed motorcycle-taxi driver from Bangkok. He is paid less than a dollar for every trip. He’s been doing it since 1993. He likes his job.

*Motorcycle taxi plays an important role as one of public transportation modes in Bangkok. However, in the past, the motorcycle taxi service has been operated under unregulated condition that causes various problems to motorcycle taxi drivers and users. In 2005, the Thai government has imposed the regulations upon motorcycle taxi service that included motorcycle taxi drivers’ registration and fare rate. This makes Thailand becoming the first country in the world that regulates motorcycle taxi service.

*Extract from Proceedings of the Eastern Asia Society for Transportation Studies, Vol.6, 2007. Full text HERE.

Acerca de Biel Calderon

“Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn’t matter to me … Going to bed at night saying we’ve done something wonderful… that’s what matters to me” (Steve Jobs) Born in Mallorca, 1983. 18 years later I moved to Madrid to study BA Political Science, 2001-2006. I wanted to be a photographer. In 2007 I graduated MA Asian and Pacific Studies, Barcelona. I wanted to be a photographer. Finally, in 2007 I graduated MA Photojournalism. Since then I have collaborated with digital magazines, NGO’s and newspapers. And I became a photographer. Recently I have been exploring Multimedia Journalism along side my photography in order to test new ways of storytelling. Currently based in Bangkok.
Esta entrada fue publicada en Thailand y etiquetada , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

